© 2017-18 Broad Ideas

  • Facebook - Black Circle


2020 Scholarships will be done virtually. 

If you have not heard from us by 3/18/20 to schedule your time-slot,

please contact us.    

When we all give a little, we can do a lot.  It is with that mindset, the generosity of our supporters, and an over-arching commitment to the future of women artists that Broad Ideas is able to offer 2 scholarships this year!  

                                      Broadening Opportunities, A BROAD IDEAS SCHOLARSHIP 

It is our hope that the Broad Idea show at the Galena Center for the Arts held during March, Women’s month, will help all people find their voices and tell their stories. In order to foster further growth in artistic expression, the Broads from Broad Ideas would like to offer two $500.00 scholarships.  This year we are fortunate enough to offer 2 scholarships!


One to support a visual artist, writer or musician who is developing their art, and is participating in the 2020 Broad Ideas Show. 


The other would be awarded to an established artist who needs to expand their reach, and is participating in the 2020 Broad Ideas Show.


These scholarships can be used for specific classes, supplies, babysitters or for any purpose that helps applicants grow in their art. The key is specificity! Tell us you know exactly what you need and why!  Click on the images below to access the application.  















To be considered for the Broad Ideas Broadening Opportunities Artist scholarship the following items must be received by March 7, 2020.  

            1.The completed application

            2. Written response to the essay question



Return the completed form to Cathie Elsbree at elsbreecaal@yahoo.com or

Mail or bring to:

            Galena Center for the Arts
            c/o Broad Ideas Scholarship

            219 Summit St.

            Galena, IL 61036

Recipient of the 2020 Broad Ideas Scholarship will be announced at our Spoken Word Closing on March 29, 2020.



        **********Artist Wendi Dibbern was awarded the 2019 Broad Ideas scholarship.**********

experienced artist.jpg
established artist.jpg